The Equifax and then Household balance transfer phishing scam
The balance transfer offer is a new one to me. And since I really could use a low rate balance transfer, I did click on the link. It was redirect to HSBC, and then I had a closer look at the email:
Dear CHRISTINE B BAKER,
Your Account has Qualified for a Low Balance Transfer Offer at householdbank.com. Transfer Balances Safely and Securely!
Take advantage with your Low APR for balance transfers. This Special offer ends October 15, 2004.
Go to householdbank.com and click “Manage Your Account” to begin the process. Login and click on “Submit a Balance Transfer” to view the APR reserved for you.
Transfer card balances with confidence:
Completely secure.
Easy step-by-step process.
Start saving cash immediately!
Remember, this offer expires October 15, 2004 so don’t wait. It just takes a few minutes to start saving.
It sure is STRANGE to have my full name in a phishing mail.
But the expiration date does give it away and when I checked the link, it went to ebusiness.householdaccount.com— not the correct URL for my accounts.
And just yesterday I got an Equifax “security” phishing mail. I checked it out right after I received it and the link was already redirected to Equifax.
I find it interesting how the corporations control the internet. They used to just disable the domains, now the phishing is turned into MARKETING for the “victims.”
Could I send out 5 billion scam mails and then have the traffic redirected to CreditFactors?
Update: I checked ebusiness.householdaccount.com and it is registered to Household. They’ve got to be on drugs! I’ll go look for that exciting balance transfer offer now.
11/2/07 update: I couldn’t find a B/T offer. Maybe a disgruntled employee decided to have some fun with Household. If I had more time, I’d call them. This mail has to be inspiring for the scammers. Add a credit limit increase to the mail and tons of people will be clicking.
And while on the subject of creditor emails, Capital One has been sending out these B/T teaser mails, telling me to look online for special offers and there never are any. I trash those mails now without opening them.
10:30 PM UPDATE re Equifax: Just got an email from the same domain as the one above, ncrpmreports.com, telling me that the “Equifax Credit Monitoring” has expired and with the links to resubscribe. My first thought was: which credit card am I using?
It took me a while to realize that I don’t even subscribe to Equifax Credit Watch, I subscribe at myFICO to SCORE WATCH, the Equifax service is crap. I checked the URL and it looks like an affiliate number in the URL.
It’s really weird that the email also has my full name.
I don’t know what to think, too tired.
Posted by Christine on 11/01/2007 at 11:08 PM
Credit - Collection - Economic News • (0) Comments • Permalink




